Free Delivery on orders over £50 🚚

Now Offering: International Shipping 🚀

Unveiling Hogwarts: The Harry Potter Houses Explained

Unveiling Hogwarts: The Harry Potter Houses Explained

Every September, Hogwarts’ magically-lit Great Hall buzzes with nerves and excitement. The Sorting Hat, patched and frayed, rests atop a stool, its brim twitching with an unseen energy that will soon define each student’s magical journey at Hogwarts. 


For first-year witches and wizards, no moment is more defining than when The Sorting Hat declares its final decision: Gryffindor, Slytherin, Ravenclaw, or Hufflepuff. But what prompts it to choose one house over another, and what is the significance of the four Harry Potter houses?


Join us as we navigate Hogwarts’ magical history, unveiling the secrets that lie within each Harry Potter house. Whether you dream of donning Gryffindor's scarlet and gold colours or the silver and green of Slytherin, discover where your magical affinity lies with Toys for a Pound!


Table of contents

  1. What are the four Harry Potter houses?
  2. How were the four Hogwarts houses created?
  3. What are the Harry Potter house traits?
  4. What are the Harry Potter house symbols?
  5. Which house is Harry Potter?
  6. Discover a world of Harry Potter magic at Toys for a Pound


What are the four Harry Potter houses?

The four Harry Potter houses are Gryffindor, Ravenclaw, Hufflepuff, and Slytherin, with each house named after one of the school’s four founders: Godric Gryffindor, Rowena Ravenclaw, Helga Hufflepuff, and Salaza Slytherin. 


How were the four Hogwarts houses created?

The Hogwarts Houses were created by four of the greatest witches and wizards ever to live: Godric Gryffindor, Rowena Ravenclaw, Helga Hufflepuff, and Salazar Slytherin. 


Godric, Rowena, Helga and Salazar shared a desire to create the world’s ‘best magic school’, and after doing so, they each created their own house to represent a personality or skill they valued most. As such, each Hogwarts house has come to represent unique character traits or skills as old as magic itself, from Gryffindor’s bravery to Slytherin’s cunning skill.


Unfortunately, the four founding friends fell out over which students Hogwarts should welcome, with Salazar believing only ‘pure-blood’ students should be allowed to attend the school. The other founders disagreed, leading Salazar to leave the school behind … but not before he created the Chamber of Secrets!


What are the Harry Potter house traits?

While the wand chooses the wizard, the Sorting Hat reveals the path, setting the course for each student’s magical journey at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. However, this path is also determined by each wizard’s character, with the Sorting Hat basing its decision on the student's unique personality traits, values, and characteristics.


Gryffindor house traits

Gryffindor house is renowned as the house of courage and bravery, with members naturally drawn to daring quests and heroic acts. 


Gryffindor students are most known for their unwavering courage and chivalry; they are the friends who face their fears without hesitation, with a strong sense of justice that emboldens them to charge into battle fearlessly when their help is needed most. 


Think of Harry Potter himself, a true Gryffindor who, in the Chamber of Secrets, was able to retrieve Godric’s sword from the hat due to his unwavering courage in rescuing fellow students from the Basilisk. 



Ravenclaw house traits 

Ravenclaw students embody creativity, intelligence and wit. They have a natural thirst for wisdom and excel in tasks like problem-solving, with every new adventure sparking a new quest for knowledge. 


Luna Lovegood is a fantastic example of everything a Ravenclaw student represents: an imaginative and naturally inquisitive student who uses her unique quirks to her advantage, always helping those around her. 


Hufflepuff house traits

The house of patience, fairness, and loyalty, Hufflepuff is filled with students who value friendship and the well-being of others. They are perhaps the most hardworking students at Hogwarts, always persevering and fighting the good fight.


Cedric Diggory, a proud Hufflepuff through and through, represents the true meaning of Hufflepuff house, remaining dedicated in the Triwizard Tournament and sharing his tactics with opposing student Harry Potter. 



Slytherin house traits

Slytherin students are often considered evil, with many death eaters, including Voldemort, once being members of the infamous green and silver house. However, this is far from the case. 


Slytherin's house traits are cunningness and resourcefulness, with students exhibiting strong leadership skills and ambition.


Bellatrix, the Malfoys, and plenty of death eaters were once all Slytherin students. However, Slytherin created many good wizards, including Horace Slughorn and Snape, who each defended Hogwarts against the final battle against the Dark Lord.



What are the Harry Potter house symbols?

Each Hogwarts house has a symbol assigned to it, which is integral to the house’s identity and reflects the values championed by their respective founders.


Gryffindor house 

Symbol: Lion

Reason: The lion represents courage, bravery, and strength – qualities highly valued by Godric Gryffindor. Like lions, Gryffindor students are also bold and have daring natures. 


Ravenclaw house 

Symbol: Eagle

Reason: Eagles are often associated with precision and high intellect, with a keen vision that allows them to assess situations clearly and intelligently. Rowena Ravenclaw chose this symbol because of these qualities, reflecting her desire for Ravenclaw houses’ commitment to academic excellence.


Hufflepuff house 

Symbol: Badger

Reason: Badgers are known for their diligence and hardworking nature, aligning with Hufflepuff’s natural values. The badger also represents loyalty and patience, qualities instilled into each Hufflepuff house member. 


Slytherin house 

Symbol: Serpent

Reason: Salazar Slytherin chose the serpent to symbolise ambition, cunningness, and resourcefulness. Serpents can naturally adapt to various environments and situations, using their innate ability and wisdom to survive.


Which house is Harry Potter?

Harry Potter is sorted into Gryffindor House. However, this almost wasn’t the case, as the Sorting Hat initially considered placing him in Slytherin, stating: “You could be great, you know, it’s all here in your head, and Slytherin will help you on your way to greatness.” 



However, Harry strongly wishes to avoid Slytherin, swaying the Sorting Hat’s final decision. Equally, Harry has always showcased courage and an innate desire to do what is right, naturally lending him to Gryffindor house.


Discover a world of Harry Potter magic at Toys for a Pound

The Harry Potter houses are more than just dormitories; they are fateful communities that help shape and encourage students to become their best.


While Gryffindor beckons the brave, Hufflepuff offers a haven of humble hard work and loyalty. Meanwhile, Ravenclaw celebrates the pursuit of wisdom, and from the depths of Hogwart’s dungeons, Slytherin inspires ambition and cunningness, challenging each individual to carve their path to greatness.


No matter which house you align most with, discover the best of Harry Potter in our magical toy collections, including high-quality Harry Potter toys, figurines and games for all ages! Whether searching for paintable collectable figurines or fun Harry Potter games for the family, there’s something for every wizard, witch, or muggle at Toys for a Pound. 



Related articles

Which Stranger Things character are you?

The Legacy of Disney at 100

15 Fun Facts you didn’t know about Barbie